top of page

Week 21 of Coronavirus 'Staycation'

~

In the news:

"In a statement released Monday, the Miami Dolphins announced that a maximum of 13,000 fans will be allowed to the opening game against the Buffalo Bills on September 20.

Masks will be mandatory for all fans entering the Hard Rock Stadium.

Vice chairman and CEO Tom Garfinkel said, “When we started the process back in March of exploring what a socially-distanced stadium could look like, we made the health and safety of everyone the first priority."

"We’re happy that our elected officials recognize the attention to detail and diligence that we’ve put into creating a safe environment and that they made the decision to move forward with a 13,000-capacity stadium at this time.”

The Dolphins have instituted several policies to enhance fan safety amid the coronavirus pandemic, including:


  • Socially distanced seating clusters

  • Masks required for fans when not actively eating or drinking

  • Upgraded air conditioning filters

  • Mobile touchless entry

  • Staggered entry times listed on game tickets

  • Cashless food service, parking and retail

  • No tailgating for 2020 season


Season ticket members will have first priority to purchase seats for the home opener, based on their tenure.  

The official stadium capacity is 65,326.



Zoom, the video conferencing app that's become a go-to for many stuck at home during the pandemic, is down in some parts of the world. In the United States, the problem seems to be affecting those in the East Coast.

"We have received reports of users being unable to visit the Zoom website (zoom.us) and unable to start and join Zoom Meetings and Webinars," the company said in a statement Monday morning. "We are currently investigating and will provide updates as we have them."


A glance at Down Detector, which tracks internet outages, show users in the United Kingdom were also experiencing issues.

Created as a business communication tool nearly a decade ago, Zoom's popularity exploded at the beginning of this year, as millions of people in lockdown began using it to host events ranging from birthday parties to religious events and even to cabinet meetings." {CNN.com}

~

My thoughts:

This week was a very nice, relaxing one! We spent the time at our vacation house just hanging out. We went canoeing, out to eat and spent time together. I listened to a lot of music, did a bunch of reading and spent some time calling my friends. I've been reading David Copperfield along with my mom and we've been discussing it weekly. It's a great book that really helps challenge your vocabulary along with a sweet story about a boy growing up in a time so different from our own. I think the thing I'm most proud of having done this week is started working on the embroidery project I've been hoping to make for so long. I decided to embroider my favourite picture of Catra from She-Ra and the Princesses of Power:

I thought it would give me a bit of a challenge for my first project with getting the expression just right as well as some variety of colours {I won't be making the background, though, of course}. So far, it's going very well! I will be making a video for my YouTube channel about the process of making it, which I will also post here, on my blog, so make sure to check that out once it's finished!


I would just like to say sorry for posting so late, we were having internet difficulties as well as travelling back home, so I couldn't work on this post until today. Thanks for being flexible! Finally, thanks to Joey, a subscriber who's been with me for a while, happy 13th birthday! Have a great week!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page